All consumer complaints resolved for Sela Roofing & Remodeling, Inc. — Minnesota and North Dakota

09/23/2014

Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above — Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Sela took off some heat tape on my roof when they did some Ins. repair. and took the clips. Haven’t contacted me or come and put back up.

When Sela was out to do Ins work on my house for siding and replace some vents on my roof one of their people took off some heat tape for icing and took the clips. My son put it on for me since he was moving and I live alone and cannot get up there anymore. I did not know they took it down — I saw some gray wire on my deck but didn’t know what it was. When winter came and I went out to plug in the wire it wasn’t there. I called my son and told him and we talked and then I told him about the gray wire on the deck and he told me that was the heat wire. I am disabled and have a hard time climbing or remembering who does things. So when Sela emailed me last winter about ice dams — I remembered it was them that worked on my house and left the gray wire on my deck from the roof. So I emailed them back. A Dara from there said she would have someone call me right away. No one has called and no one has come out to replace my heat wire or the clips and heat wire. I do not want to go through another winter without that on the roof! They should do the right thing and come out and replace something that they should never have taken down! I did not give them permission to take it down or take the clips that held it in place!

Initial Business Response

Sela’s roof repair consisted of vents which is no were near were the heat cables are installed. They are installed on the eve of the roof and the vents are near the peak, We would not had to disrupt this area at all. if the wires are hanging off the roof and the clips are missing it had to of blown off the roof. We did not steal any clips or remove any heat tape. Just because we worked on the roof does not make us reliable for heat tape we did not install

*** ****

Initial Consumer Rebuttal

(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

The heat tape was on the roof before Sela was on the roof and was taken down and on my deck when they left. It was rolled up and placed on the deck. They did not leave the clips either. They are responsible to put it back up and to bring whatever it takes to put it backup since they took it down and took the items that held it on the roof. How would I get the heat tape off the roof when I cannot climb up there! Either to take it off or to put it on after they took it off. They are bad at service and as far as I am concerned this is stealing from me! Maybe his workers thought they were doing a favor by taking it down — I don’t know and I do not care — it needs to be put back up! It has been to long now and they need to be responsible for what their workers do — even if it is not on the "work order"! His workers took the Heat tape off and took/through away (ask them) what ever it is that holds the heat tape on to the roof. Like I said I have never been on the roof, I cannot get up there, to take it off or put it on. Sela needs to be responsible for their workers actions.

Final Business Response

We still disagree that we took the tape down, however as a good faith to our customer we will install it on the roof free of charge. I will have a service tech swing by before it snows to reinstall the tape free of charge. We will bring the clips to install it

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Sela replaced the shingles on my roof and did a poor job of flashing the shingles to the stucco. The shingles also keep coming loose and skewing.

Sela replaced the shingles on my roof and did a poor job of flashing the shingles to the stucco. The shingles also keep coming loose and skewing.

Initial Business Response

******** ***** Case it ******** May 28, 2014 Dear ********

ROOFING AND REMODELING Excellence Above and Beyond *******************. St. Louis Park, MN 55416

Attached are the documents to prove Sela has gone above the expectations of our warranty and customer service. We installed this roof in the year 2001, with the roof comes a 10 year labor warranty.

As you will see we were contacted by Mr. ***** in July of 2013, we re-nailed some shingles for him and sent a letter indicating that we did this as a courtesy outside of our warranty. Mr. ***** contacted us again in May of 2014 which we visited the residence and told him that we would be back to repair it when we could fit it in our schedule. He called on Friday May 23rd 2014 very upset that we had not been back when in fact it was scheduled for June 10th 2014 for us to visit again. We feel we have gone above and beyond what is needed and feel this complaint is not valid do to the warranty being expired and the fact that we were scheduled to go back one more time after we did the first repair out of warranty at no charge to the customer.

Thank you *** operations Manager Sela Roofing and Remodeling

Sela Roofing and Remodeling, Inc. *******************. St, Louis Park, MN 55416 ************ (Mills.) ************ (St. Paul)************* (FAX) Visit us at www.selaroofing.corn State of Minnesota License ID #*******

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/11/2013

Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: The work was paid for in full on 4/26/13. The patio door still needs a screen door and foot lock. Also needs loose items on door secured.

On 4/26/13 I signed a contract with Sela to have a patio door installed for $3490.00. I was told by Salesman "********" that it could be done in a month. The bill was paid in full on that date. They never called me when a month went by and it was not done. I had to keep calling them for information. Several times I was told that the door was in and I can schedule the installation and then I was told that it was a mistake and it was not in yet. It was finally installed on 6/7/13. The screen door was damaged so they ordered a new one. I was told again that it would take about 4 weeks. They also did not install the foot lock. The gentleman who installed the door said he would put a foot lock in his truck and that I should call him when I get back from my vacation and he will come to install the foot lock. I called him when I got back and he told me he will put it in when the screen door arrives. Again he told me about 4 weeks. I also informed him that a part of the door fell off, I snapped it back in place but would like them to fix it so it will not fall off. I was told in the beginning of this week that the screen door is in and it will be installed this week. It is now Friday 8/9/13 and it is not done and the week is over. Again nobody called me to tell me there is a problem so it will not happen yet.

Initial Business Response

The customer had been frustrated with the slow response from our installer to replace the screen and install the footlock on the patio door we installed. Unfortunately she hadn’t notified our office about her frustration until after she’d filed a formal complaint with the BBB. With in hours of her call to the office, the patio door screen was installed at her home and 2 days later the footlock was installed. The customer has requested a few adjustments and changes since, and we are waiting on parts to complete her installation to her satisfaction.

Final Consumer Response

(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

I had called ***** on 8/15/13 and told him about the footlock in the wrong place, the door that got stuck when I tried to open and close it It got caught on the footlock that was installed in the wrong place. I also told him that the screen was warped. He informed me that he will send someone out to stretch it. This did not happen yet and it is more that a month since then. On 9/16/13 a man from sela showed up at my door and said he was here to fix the door. I had no call from sela ahead of time, he just showed up. He did install the footlock on the door in the correct place. He also moved the footlock that was in the wrong place out a little so the door now opens and closes more easily. There is now two footlocks on the door and this is not the way the door is supposed to be. I showed him the screen door that still has a screen that is warped. It needs to be stretched flat still. I showed him the loose parts on the door and he was not sure why they were left loose on all four corners on the inside of the door.

On 9/19/13 ***** called when I was at work and said he wanted to know if I was satisfied with the work done. I called him back in the morning of 9/20/13 and could not get a hold of him. I left a message for him to call me back and I still have not heard from him. The last response from sela to the BBB was that they will contact the customer and discount the project for the delays. As of yet I have not received any call from sela. I would still like a 20% refund of amounts paid, the screen stretched, and a door that has only one footlock as it was meant to be.

Final Business Response

We have made several attempts to reach ****** by phone with no return phone call. We cant get in the house until she responds.

Thank you

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/12/2013

Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service estimate or agreement

Complaint: Complete lack of communication surrounding project resulting in termination of company from project. Abrasive customer service and refusal of refund.

Signed estimate and contract on 05/31/13. Informed service performed within TEN business days. Called 22 days later for project scheduling for immediately following Monday. No call, no show by contractor. Contractor arrived next day with entirely wrong materials and stated would be back NEXT MORNING. Again no call and no show next morning. Called company to complain and cancel. Crew arrived about one hour later after service was cancelled. Attempted to discuss with General Manager following morning regarding issues, cancellation and refund. General Manager abrasive and insulting and refused stating customers have only three days to cancel for refund. Would not allow customer to report three day policy was long after 1. project began grossly late. 2. Significant lack of communication 3. Loss of any contractor credibility. 4. Poor and abrasive customer service.

Business’ Initial Response

Thank You for sharing your experience, We here at Sela work very hard to ensure that every customer is happy, satisfied and a repeat customer, I apologize that this was not your experience.

I spoke with our project manager today and let me take a moment to share his input:

The contract was written up on 5/23/13, signed on 5/31/13 and we received it on 6/6/13. Protocol is to contact the customer that we have received the contract and that it is being moved into scheduling, which a voice mail was left on 6/6/13.

Another protocol is to contact the customer the day before installation, which our records show a voice message was left on 6/24/13 stating that weather permitting a crew will be to the property the following day.

Installers showed up on 6/25/13 to start the job and they loaded 5" gutter coil by accident instead of 6" they informed us that they spoke with you that they would be back the next day.

The installers showed up as promised on 6/26/13 with the correct gutter coil and they said you had contacted the office to cancel.

The manager discussed with you what happened and apologized for the reloading issue and that we could still get it done that day, but that you still wanted to cancel the manager also shared that there is a 3 day right to cancel.

The conclusion was that the down payment check was returned promptly.

We take every concern seriously and I have spoken with my staff regarding every issue you have stated so that we as a team can continue to improve, again our apologies to you.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

04/17/2013

Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above — Repair Complaint Issue

Complaint: Had Sela install two solatubes in my kitchen. They started leaking Jan. 2013. Tried numberous times with Sela to fix them. They have not done so.

In May of 2005 I contracted with Sela to shingle my house and to install two Solatubes in my kitchen. Our sales rep. was John Patzner. Customer number: 01-0030780. We paid Sela $1,100.00 for the Solatubes and installation. We were told that they had a 10 year warranty on parts if we had any problems. In January of 2013 I noticed my kitchen ceiling was wet around one of the Solatubes. I had my husband take down the diffuser on the ceiling and it was full of water. The next day January 11, 2013 I called Sela. I was put in touch with Scott. He told me he was going to have someone from Solatubes contact me on Monday January 14, 2013. No one called. I called Scott. On January 16th someone from Sela came out and taped both Solatubes in the attic. He also notice the second Solatube was starting to leak. He said this would seal them both. Then around Febuary 10, 2013 I noticed there was water on the diffuser again. I called Scott at Sela and he said he was going to send out some one again. Febuary 13th Steve came out. He said he is not an installer of the Solatubes, but he went and looked on the roof and said everything looked good. He said he was going to talk to Scott about getting an installer of the Solatubes out to look at it. Once again no one called! Febuary 21, 2013 I called Sela again. I asked to talk to some one else. But they told me to talk to Scott. He said the Solatube installer was suppose to call me tomorrow. No one called! Febuary 26, 2013 I am sitting at my kitchen table listening to the water dripping from the Solatube onto the diffuser. I call Sela once again and ask for some one else to talk to. The receptionist didn’t even say anything to me, just clicked the phone and forwarded it to Scott again. He said he was going to call the solatube guys again. He said he was also going to see if a subcontractor from the area would come and look at it. I heard nothing from the Solatube guys. On Monday March 4,2013, Rick, a subcontracter came by. He said there was a buildup of condensation in the solatubes and felt they should be replaced. I asked about the warranty. He said he is just a subcontractor, for warranty you go back to who you purchased them from. I asked him what he recommended and he recommeded they be replaced. He said he was going to talk to Scott and recommend working with us to have them replaced. Once again I did not get a call from Sela. It is now March 21, 2013. I am Not calling Sela again! It has been two and a half months since I started trying to get this problem fixed. I feel Sela does not stand behind there product or do they care about this customer! I tried very hard to be considerate, but two and a half months is along time.

Business’ Initial Response

I spoke with Mrs. ****** and we have agreed to pay a prorated amount on the solar tubes as she does not want Solar tubes in her home anymore. We both agreed that we feel its an issue with the Solar tubes themselves and she does not want to risk another defect in the product. She is well ware that the sole problem she is having is with solar tube and not Sela. Although we offered to replace them as a good faith gesture to our customer. Mrs. ****** has chosen to take a prorated amount as a good gesture from Sela

Sela was very responsive to Mrs. ****** request and concerns. We visited her home 3 different times and we resealded, reflashed and reccomended that the solar tubes be replaced. It is our professional opinion that its a material defect and not due to the install. The warranty for the solar tubes should be directly with Solar tube and not Sela. Sela is willing to replace them at no charge to the homeowner, however we will not continue to warranty the product as it is a manufacture warranty and not Sela’s warranty on failed materials. We will call to set up a time for the new Solar tubes to be installed

Business’ Final Response

(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

I received a refund check for the amount that Sela and I agreed upon. I also received a $50.00 gift card. I am satisfied with the resolution.

Thank You.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Leave a Reply